Freezer Bananas

The produce stand near our house has a box of bananas well past their prime…for 25 cents a pound.  That is quite the deal so every time I’m there I sort through the box and find the ones that are the least bruised (even though they are totally brown otherwise) and snatch ’em up.  Why?  Because over-ripe bananas are the best for baking and smoothies!  I used to freeze them in their peels and then have to navigate a mushing banana with frozen fingers.  Then an incredibly smart friend told me how she did it – peel them while super ripe, flash freeze them on a wax-paper-lined cookie sheet, and then put the frozen hunks of banana in a bag.  It’s how I do my peaches in August but somehow I hadn’t thought to do it with bananas.

freezer bananas

2 thoughts on “Freezer Bananas

Leave a Reply

