Holy LactMed, Batman!

I found myself up last night watching The West Wing on Netflix because I couldn’t sleep.  Because my annual ear infection* skipped it’s normal October arrival and chose to hit on the eve of the most beautiful day we’ve seen so far this year.  75 degrees and sunny today in the PNW?  And I want to dig my inner ear out with a pick axe.

Serafina is still EBF (“exclusively breastfed” for the non-baby/pregnancy-acronym-savvy folks, as I once was) which means that I think a lot about what goes into my body.  Aka only 2 mojitos at the birthday fiesta yesterday. 😉  And I need to seriously heed the warning on the side of the antibiotic bottle when it says to consult a physician when pregnant and breastfeeding.

That being said, I went to my favorite breastfeeding website and surfed over to the selected list of medications approved by the AAP for use in breastfeeding mothers.  After seeing that my antibiotic was an L3 for lactation risk category (moderately safe), I started looking around a bit more.  I consulted the websites KellyMom uses to compile information and got to the site in the title of my post: LactMed.  SO COOL!

Maintained by the US National Library of Medicine, their own description of the website describes the database as this:

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) – A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.

The science teacher in me L-O-V-E-S that these are peer-reviewed articles, that it is wonderfully organized, and the landing page of the specific drugs are readable, understandable, and helpful.  So if you’re looking for a great reference as a breastfeeding mother, you gotta bookmark this site!

LactMed

*As far back as I can remember, I have gotten an ear infection – usually in my right year, sometimes in both – every October.  When I was a super senior (aka 5th year) in college, I had an ear infection for 2 months.  The whopper I got a my second year teaching kept me home for 2 days (I never took sick days) and was so awful it blistered my ear drum.  So yeah, I am used to them.  Which is why I was SO grateful when I didn’t get an ear infection this past October seeing as Serafina was 2 months old and I really didn’t want to have to deal with that then.  But here it is now.  Boo.  Prayers would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

