#31Days: Relish all that zucchini

My husband hates zucchini.  Actually, he hates squash of all kinds.  But I got him to eat some underneath this delicious Saucy Shredded Chicken.

We have an unspoken contest every fall to see how many things I can put zucchini in without him noticing.  If your zucchini grows like ours, you need all the help you can get to eat it all!  Last year he gave me a hard time for making zucchini meatloaf (which, in my defense, is 60/40 ground turkey/zucchini) so this year I tried something new, zucchini salsa (recipe to come later this month in another “relish” entry).  But for this recipe, I figured he would be just fine if the zucchini was baked to a crisp and smothered in delicious chicken in a thick sauce.  I won this meal.

Here’s the recipe for the Saucy Shredded Chicken – in my handwriting on a recipe card because recipe cards are way more fun than just a typed version.

Saucy shredded chicken

And here’s the recipe for the Zucchini Crispz (yes, with a z…I can’t help myself).  They’re loosely based on Smitten Kitchen’s but with some tweaks.

Zucchini crispz

Serve all of it over polenta (I followed Martha Stewart’s instructions).  To get you salivating, here’s the finished product.  That zoomed in pic is for you zucchini lovers who would eat just the zucchini crispz plain!

Saucy shredded chicken with zucchini crispz and polenta

Leave a Reply

