#31Days: Recap Oakes family reunion

We got to have 2 family reunions in 1 month this summer!  It made for a busy August but it was fun still. 🙂

My aunt planned a 4 day trip to Stevenson, WA, on the Columbia River down by Hood River, OR, for my mom’s side of the family.  It was my Grandpa and Grandma Oakes, their descendents, and my grandma’s sister; my Auntie Joyce came the farthest (Chicago).  We all stayed in a bed and breakfast just out of town and we did all sorts of fun stuff.  There are also lots of birthdays in our family in August and September so we did a big birthday night too.  My grandparents told lots of stories, we played lots of bean bag toss, put together a few puzzles, and the boys shot bb guns outside on the property.  We also played tons of games, shopped in town, got ourselves countried up at the Skamania County Fair (the only free fair in the country), hiked on the Pacific Crest Trail, waterskiied, and rafted the White Salmon River.  The last day we were there, we drove over to Hood River and went on a driving tour of the orchard and farm country.  The extended weekend trip was busy but didn’t feel hurried which was nice.  And of course, we ate good food, whether we were grilling on the deck, eating at the town grill, or enjoying ice cream at the fair.

Here are a few highlights in pictures:

stevenson collage

Starting in the top left, my brother-in-law, cousin, and husband showing their awesome arms (including tan lines)…Serafina checking out the horses at the fair…all the girls brushing their teeth…Grandpa’s trademark fill-up-your-face smile.

Here’s all of us at the fair (sorry it’s a bit tilted…gotta love not having a tripod!):

IMG_2368

And then here’s all of us at the end on the porch of the bed and breakfast:

IMG_2535

Good lookin’ bunch if I do say so myself!

Rafting was pretty cool but I don’t have any pictures of that.  Next time we’ll have to remember our GoPro to capture it all.  It was pretty awesome though because in our boat, it was our guide and just our family members (me, Ben, dad, sister, brother-in-law, uncle, cousin).  My dad, uncle, and cousin all got out before we headed over Husum Falls – which is a class 4 or 5 (can’t remember!) – but that’s because my dad didn’t want to jar his replaced hip, my cousin has too many concussions already, and my uncle’s already gone over it and we had too many people the raft.  You can check out pictures from the guide company we went with for an idea of how good the rapid was.  Our guide – who was totally awesome – said we “boofed it” which is kayak/raft slang for nailed it.  We had just the right amount of speed, angle, and weight distribution that it wasn’t bad at all….which kinda made us want to go over again and mess it up. 🙂  It was my first time rafting and I’d love to go back!

One of the stories Grandpa and Grandma told was about how they ended up together.  It’s hilarious which is why I’m saving it for a post of it’s own…so until then, I’ll leave you with a video of Grandpa shooting with the guys.  We never have ANY fun when he’s around… 😉

One thought on “#31Days: Recap Oakes family reunion

  1. FABULOUS ALL ROUND!!!!! AND YES, YOU MAY SAY SO, YOUR FAMILY PHOTO IS GREAT, R. ESPECIALLY THE DARLING TRIO IN FRONT. LOVE THE PHOTOS, RECOUNTS AND OF COURSE, YOU THREE. XOXOOX AUNTY KAR

Leave a Reply

