#31Days: Relish canned apple pie filling

One of the things I love the most about fall is the delicious food, especially the fruits and vegetables of autumn.  The fall of 2011 was the first time I’d made my own applesauce though I’d grown up making applesauce with my mom.  One of my coworkers at The Center School had an apple tree in her yard and she brought me bags of apples that September/October so I learned (though it’s not hard) to make applesauce on my own.  I called it “Brapplesauce” in her honor (thanks Britta!).

That first fall, I used a Victorio Strainer that Ben’s mom used when her kids were little.  I didn’t read the instructions first and couldn’t figure out why it was SO hard to crank the strainer.  Then I read that you’re supposed to slightly soften the apples before you use the strainer…oops.  Besides Britta’s apples, Ben’s folks also brought over a few boxes of apples from an orchard outside of Wenatchee that were delicious and I almost felt bad making applesauce out of them.  But I did.

Last fall, I really got excited for applesaucing because I knew the following fall our little girl would be chowing down on it. 🙂  Sure, it was exhausting to be on my feet all day canning with a month old baby but totally worth it, especially this fall as I get to feed her this golden yumminess nearly every day.

I tried to mix it up a bit last year (as I did this year with some new fun peach recipes) by making canned apple pie filling.  My mom makes whole apple pies and puts them in the freezer but I just don’t have the space for that.  I do, however, have shelf space, especially with such a handy husband who makes me wonderful shelves in my kitchen.  Make sure to order some ClearJel (just type it into Amazon) ahead of time so you don’t have to wait for your order to show up.  I loved the canned apple pie filling so much that I decided to make it again this year.  Seriously, it makes wonderful apple pie.  All you have to do is make your crust, pop open a jar of filling, pour, and bake.  So easy!  P.S. I’ll post my Grandma Strand’s Best Pie Crust Ever Recipe sometime in the future.  I promise, it doesn’t disappoint.

But as for canned apple pie filling, I’m not going to recreate the wheel.  I did, however, mix it up a bit because I ran out of apple juice so I used hard cider instead.  Trust me, it’s amazing (click here or on the picture below for the recipe).  So I’ve changed the recipe just in that part. 🙂  I’ve also upped the recipe because I don’t see the point in making 7 pint size jars…go with the big ones and fill up that canner!  Plus, who wants to wait to make something apple-y and delightful until another day?  You’ve got a bit to make tonight…

canned apple pie filling - reprezent98201

This post is part of my series #31Days: taking a month to remember, recap, and relish.

Click here to access all the posts and here to read background on the series.

Leave a Reply

